Why Home-Based Reading?

Little did I know at the time Susan and I were approached by CLC to write a book about reading for parents who wanted to work with their children at home that I would be a home-schooling parent myself.  From a young age I knew I wanted to be a teacher.  While attending college I began to think more specifically about being a reading teacher after having taught in the classroom for a while.  The thought of home-schooling never crossed my mind.

Books

I set out to do what I had planned and wanted to do.  I taught at various schools in different grade levels for several years before leaving the classroom to become a reading teacher.  While pregnant with my fourth child, the idea of home-schooling was planted.  I thought it was something I might want to try with this little one at some point and time.  A few years later a fifth child came along and the seed that was planted started growing. I was working part-time as a Reading Recovery teacher at the same school my older three kids were attending.  I loved teaching reading and my older kids enjoyed school, so I put the idea of homeschooling on the back burner for a while. 

When CLC approached Susan and me about writing this book, both our interests were peaked.  Susan had been tutoring some home-schooled children and my heart was turning more and more towards home-schooling.  By the time we were finished and the book was published, I was homeschooling my youngest 2 children.

I still am a Reading Recovery teacher, but since I only work a handful of hours per week, I have the schedule and time to home school my own children.  My husband works from home so he is willing and able to fill in when needed.  I have a new appreciation for home-school parents.  It is busy!  There are many things I miss about my kids not being in school, but there are also many blessings I am finding while teaching them at home.

I don’t know what God has in store for me and my family in the future.  I am trying to take it one busy day at a time.  I do know that I will continue to have a heart for classroom teachers, homeschooling parents and children who struggle with reading.  This book is an attempt to be a guide for all those who work with children who need extra support with reading and writing.  Susan and I hope that as you work with your children, and the parents of your children, you will experience the same blessings we have over the years helping children learn to read.

Sandra Vroon IMGSandra Vroon has taught second grade, third grade and fifth grade.  She is currently a Reading Recovery teacher at Legacy Christian School.  She also serves as an adjunct professor in the area of Literacy for Calvin College and GVSU.  She continues to love teaching both in schools and at home.  In her spare time she reads children’s novels, drives her kids to their different activities and teaches Zumba.

 

For additional posts on home-based reading, check out these previous posts: 

Comprehension: A Key Component to Successful Reading

How to Introduce New Books to Your Child

Questions You and Your Child Should be Asking

2 thoughts on “Why Home-Based Reading?

Leave a Reply

